Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 89 Accord oil leak

DX User
    Vehicle
    86 Accord LXi hatch, 04 Silverado 1500, 99 Malibu

89 Accord oil leak

First thing's first. Hi! I'm a newbie . I was suggested to this website by someone at www.honda-tech.com. I checked out this forum and it is very much what I've been looking for! Thanks for having me here, hopefully I'll learn enough about this car that I too can help out others like everyone else does. That being said...

I have an oil leak on the timing belt side of my engine. I replaced the distributor o-ring as suggested by someone to me, that thing was dry rotted to he**. That stopped the leak that was falling onto the tranny. Well, I thought that that leak was drifting onto the other side of the engine and dripping down onto the oil pan and driver's side suspension, but I was wrong. I opened up the top timing cover and noticed oil thrown around in there. I cleaned it out at the car wash to make sure it wasn't just old oil. There is a leak there. It leaks pretty badly too. I'd say 1/2 qt a day . I've done some searches here and found it could possibly be a cam seal, popular leak from what I've seen. Question is, will I be able to access that seal without having to lift the engine out? I looked in there and it doesn't look like much room to work with. Does anyone know what the process to replace this seal would be? I would also like to replace my belts since they have had oil all over it for the last few months. Thanks guys!!

Vehicle
    01 Civic lx auto; 03 Accord EX
    the front cam seal is very easy to access. you don't have to pull the engine.
    just remove the valve cover.
    remove the plasic cover over top of the cam gear.
    remove the distributor
    use zip ties to secure the timming belt to the cam gear. this way you don't have to readjust the timing belt.
    loosen the tension on the timing belt.
    remove the cam gear, don't lose the pin.
    remove the rockers,
    pull out the cam,