PDA

View Full Version : 87 accord lxi fuel injected wont start

f1gure8
06-09-2014, 11:46 AM
Hello everyone, i am looking for help trying to start this car up again. i dont know why it isnt starting, but it cranks really slowly, i just replaced the battery and everything works fine ( headlights, radio, AC, when i crank the sub ground wire gets hot but it wont start, yes i have fuel and the car reads that i have fuel but i dont know what else to do, im very new to cars so if u can speak in laymans terms i'd appreciate that lol thanks everyone

niles
06-09-2014, 02:10 PM
Did this just start happening, or did you get the car in this condition?

Next to your speedometer, is the "PGM-FI" light on when you turn on the car?

Also, you can check the spark plugs, spark plug wires and the distributor cap if the "PGM-FI" light is NOT on.

f1gure8
06-09-2014, 06:06 PM
its my grandfathers old car

im trying to get it running, since it hasnt been used in about 10 years, it only has 46800 miles on it.

yes the "pgm-fi" light shows up

Dr_Snooz
06-09-2014, 06:14 PM
Check the ground wires going from the engine to the body and the trans to the body. If they get corroded, it will cause the symptoms you describe. Probably best to replace them all using the Big Three (http://www.3geez.com/forum/3geez-accords/64853-12-volt-big-three-upgrade.html) upgrade.

f1gure8
06-09-2014, 06:49 PM
the ground wire from the valve to frame is frayed and i dont know where the other one would be

niles
06-09-2014, 08:55 PM
The PGM FI light means you have a trouble code. Finding out what it means may point you in the right direction.

Check out this link to check your engine code: http://www.3geez.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81283

Oldblueaccord
06-10-2014, 02:28 AM