PDA

View Full Version : I take back everything I said I knew about cars

niles
06-18-2014, 06:03 AM
Yesterday morning I had a hard time starting my car. Then after work it wouldn't start at all.

All the tests I could think of were passing; resistances, voltages, fuses, fuel, spark, timing, etc. Then I started pulling spark plugs, they were soaking wet and rusted. It was coolant. Luckily the oil is still moisture free.

It's hard to say exactly how long my head gasket has been on it's way out, but according to the symptoms - about a year. I am a terrible mechanic.

http://i1286.photobucket.com/albums/a607/NilesHenke/Honda/DSC_0267_zpsno9c81wm.jpg

conozo
06-18-2014, 09:54 AM
looks like you'll be needing that head you got from the junk yard now.

Edit: are you sure it was coolant. (i dont know if you mean all 4 spark plugs looked the same) Its my understanding that if a headgasket went out there would be at most two cylinders with coolant not all 4. I just cant think of a way you would have coolant in all 4 cylinders unless you were totally thrashing the engine. So are you sure its not just gas from being flooded or something.

niles
06-18-2014, 11:11 AM
Yep lol glad I picked it up now. I'm taking it to the machine shop tonight to have it tested

niles
06-20-2014, 10:01 AM
Spare head checked out okay, so I am having the machine shop replace the valve stem seals and machine the surface today, then do a pressure check.

ARP head studs are on order. Victor Reinz gasket is on order. Already have all the other gaskets.

I will start the treardown this weekend. While everything is apart, I might try to reroute some vacuum lines for appearances. And the intake manifold will get a thorough cleaning.

Any other suggestions for things to do while I have the top-end dismantled?

conozo
06-21-2014, 04:08 AM
Timimg belt, tensioner., check your water pump

Dr_Snooz
06-21-2014, 07:09 AM
I am a terrible mechanic.