PDA

View Full Version : Re-Engined- Weberized-CNG fueled 85 Hatchback LX

JKP
08-28-2014, 02:27 PM
The story of my 85 Accord HB LX .... bought it used in 1989 when I graduated from college and got my first real paycheck ... put 340K on the engine with nothing more than routine maintenance ... blew a head gasket in 2012 and parked it finally .... it never once left me stranded on the road. What a great car !
Now I am beginning the next chapter and hope to drive it for another 20 years. I found a professionally rebuilt long block on Ebay for $450 .... I'm halfway through putting the new engine together. Will convert to the Weber 32/36 and then once I get it running right and everything else in good shape mechanically, I'm going to install a CNG conversion kit and run it as a duel fuel vehicle. Where I live a "GGE" (gallon gasoline equivalent) of CNG costs about $1.50 or cheaper if you have your own home compressor.
Pics will be forthcoming for this probably two year project .... I'm looking forward to some advice and motivation from this great forum !
For starters if anyone has done this or knows of any links or threads I should read please let me know.
:idea:

lostforawhile
08-28-2014, 03:29 PM
great idea, Dr. Snooze will be chiming in on this one shortly, he especially enjoys the alternative fuel,oil,etc type posts :thumbup:

Dr_Snooz
08-28-2014, 06:02 PM
Right you are, Lost! LOL

@JKP, you mention a home compressor? How do I learn more about that? I've been doing a lot of research in to woodgas and am currently gathering the materials to build a gasifier. Among other things, I'd like to compress the stuff into propane cylinders and use it instead of propane. I saw a guy on YouTube doing that very thing with an ordinary air compressor. I was intrigued, but it just seemed like a really good way to blow up your garage and kill yourself in the process. I'd like to do some reading on how to do it in a safe way.