PDA

View Full Version : What happened to my 3gee?

89akord
09-10-2014, 03:37 PM
Hey guys I'm just getting into cars & hondas so excuse the noobish talk. I have a beloved 89 Accord LX 5 speed. This is the first stick car i've owned and my first car period. So the clutch went out today..so I think. Please listen if you can give me any feedback

So today I was driving like normal, pulled out of a parking lot. clutch, gears, engine everything fine. I'm slowing down so I put the car in neutral and have the clutch in all the way. When I try to put it back in first, I couldnt. I let off the clutch in neutral and the clutch pedal feels like nothing is happening. No force behind the clutch just floppy. I pull over, shut the car off, start it again. Try to put it in first, no give. Shut it off, START it in first gear..and the car would start and then move, Almost as if the clutch was stuck to the flywheel and I had no control over it (clutch pedal still floppy). So I continue to have it in first and drive it down to a service station a few blocks away. I told him what happened, and he wanted to drive the car. When he got in it, he said he would try to shift without the clutch. So he did around the parking lot. Somehow he got the feel back in the clutch, but then it wasn't gripping well/burnt out. So he determined my clutch was toast, which is what he feels like now. So I limped it home..or tried until the clutch would grab anymore uphill and so i could go. Had to get it towed home. My question is what you guy think exactly happened...I know my clutch is toast now because I have normal clutch feel, and it engages but doesnt grab of course. But I thought clutches burn out overtime...Why did i just all of a sudden lose all clutch feel with the clutch disengaged in neutral. All the gears still work and it shifts fine. I'm just a bit confused. I'm thinking maybe the pressure plate broke..if thats possible. I Dont know..

conozo
09-11-2014, 07:51 AM