PDA

View Full Version : Remote Wire

88BlackEXi
05-18-2002, 06:39 PM
Anyone know how and what fuse to hook up the remote wire from my amp? Im new at installs, and i can do everything ok so far except for that, which fuse do i hook it up to and how?

SteveDX89
05-18-2002, 06:43 PM
Does the head unit you are using have an antenna power on lead? If so that's where you hook it up. If you don't have an antenna lead on your head unit, you have to hook it up into your ignition. I wired mine up with the wipers and am having no trouble. If you do it this way, you're amp will only turn on when the key is the "on" position. You can pull the fuse and stick the wire in the slot where the fuse goes and then put the fuse back in. The fuse should hold it. You might also want to hard wire it somewhere. Mine is hooked up temporarily like that until I get a new head unit.

87AccordsterLx
05-18-2002, 08:42 PM
well I may be wrong but when I did my install there was a remote wire coming out of my deck that was for the amp... Its a sony CDX-M620... Thats just what I remember... I would think that you could connect it to the accessories wire that goes into the deck you have now... the fuse would be the same thing just more wiring....

Lockey
05-20-2002, 05:40 PM
Dont use the power antenna wire if you have a remote dedicaded one(or running more then one amp) the reason is that you can blow the ic in your head unit becasue the power antenna only draws low amps but running a couple of amps will pull more and cause the headunit to stop working.

another way to wire it up is to run a power wire from the power to the amp and have a switch on it from the dash etc... i did this so i could turn off the subs(before i had seperate sub controls) from the dash...hamndy when you get light dimming :)

rgbpmp
05-23-2002, 03:14 PM