PDA

View Full Version : Ok guys I need some help...

SiCReX
12-18-2002, 12:09 AM
I have an 87 accord lxi, i reeeeally want to put in a 3rd gen jdm accord b20a. My engine is gettin lots o mileage (205,000+) I can't find anywhere to even see how much it would cost or anything. Can someone please tell me what a good site to buy one from is? And is it really that much of a pain in the ass to do it yourself, seeing as how I have never done a swap before. thx

RCracer
12-18-2002, 01:54 AM
If the engine/tranny comes complete with rear engine mount bracket the engine will prety much drop in on the original mounts.
If it comes with the intermediate shaft and driveshafts its a bonus.
There is a little wiring to be done but how to do that is explained more than once on the board.

As for finding the 86-89 accord B20a well I cant really help (I bought mine in a parts car complete). Try ringing some engine importers (some of them dont even know its a accord engine and think its a 2nd Gen prelude engine only), with the number of B20a's that are appearing someone must have some somewhere. It may be hard to get a 5speed though

merlindavis
12-18-2002, 04:27 AM
actually, i'm betting most engine importers will try to sell you the 3rd gen prelude b20a... most of them think it's for the 3g lude only, not 2g lude or 3g accord... if you end up finding one online, ask to see a picture of the engine you will be buying first, and make sure it's the correct engine...the main identifying features would be that it's canted forwards = quite a bit of room between vc and tb, and that the alternator mounts at the back of the engine, not the front like my 3g lude b20a... take a look at any pic of a b20a/a5 or b21a1 in a 3g lude, and you'll see how little space there is between the throttle body and valve cover... it's quite a large difference between the two jdm b20a engines...

RobT5580
12-18-2002, 10:52 AM