PDA

View Full Version : Alternative to Harbor Freight

Dr_Snooz
11-04-2014, 08:52 PM
Many of you know that I'm a big booster of Harbor Freight. Yes, their tools are subpar in a lot of respects and don't last very long, but dog-gone it, they're cheap and last well enough for a weekend warrior who doesn't want to spend a million dollars on a tool he's only going to use a few times in his life. In my paying work, however, I aim for more professional grade tools. Because I work in construction again, I can find most of those tools at Home Depot and the like. In my wrenching endeavors, things are more complicated. Right now, I'm looking for a decent engine hoist. Harbor Freight's is too small to lift the engine over the radiator of my truck. It's so small, in fact, that I'd do well to pull the 3g engine with it. It's more like something you'd give to your 12 year old so he could pull the engine on his go-kart or something. It's a toy, really.

So the question is, if you don't want to buy something like that at Harbor Freight, where do you buy it? Ideally, I'm looking for a store front where I don't have to pay for shipping.

cygnus x-1
11-05-2014, 07:50 AM
I'm surprised you don't like the HF engine hoist. I've had one for years (I think it's the 1 ton) and it's pulled several engines no problem, including V8s. On my Samurai I had to lift a VW diesel + transmission about 3.5 feet (oil pan to ground) to clear the upper radiator support. Then had to angle the transmission down about 45deg to get it down into the tunnel. I was pushing the limit of the lift height but it did it.