PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here saying hello :)

gascanEXPLODE
01-01-2015, 06:11 AM
Whats up everybody? I Got this 86 LXI a couple weeks ago... it was hours from being crushed and I couldn't let that happen.. Oh also this is my first honda! So when I first got this car, it would barely run and someone busted out the passenger side door window. The previous owner had done some crazy wiring to get the fans running and for the stereo (nothing fused). So I have spent ALOT of time just repairing STUPID THINGS than should never have been done.

So far I have repaired alot of the stock wiring, rebuilt the distributor and replaced the entire ignition system, also replaced the broken glass( very cold here in ND no drivey drivey without windows).

Anyway I fell in love with this car the second I saw it... and im glad its mine :) This picture blows but its the only one I have, possibly will take more today while im out working on it.

~Steve

derolph
01-01-2015, 07:04 AM
Welcome to the forum. As far as I can tell from the photo, the car does not have major rust issues, which is an indication it has lived most of its life in a warmer climate where chemicals are not needed on roads in winter. Do you know where it came from?

In the photo, the car appears to have an emergency/police-type flasher on top of it. Do you have any clues about why it's on the car?

How is it running, since you did the ignition system work? Have you had enough time yet to assess oil/fluid/coolant leaks and to get a feel for internal engine condition?

Dr_Snooz
01-01-2015, 08:00 AM
Cool car! Thanks for saving it.

ryan427
01-01-2015, 03:36 PM
Nice job. My fan is rigged to run all of the time. Definitely one of those stupid things I have to figure out too. Kudos on realizing what you have there. Mine is at 267k miles and purring. I'm sure you'll have many miles to go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gascanEXPLODE
01-01-2015, 05:06 PM