PDA

View Full Version : shaved molding

DROPPED88
12-25-2002, 09:23 PM
when you shave your molding do you just fill it in with bondo after you remove the molding or do you have to weld in a filler piece then bondo over that

anchovies
12-25-2002, 09:44 PM
Weld then bondo is the right way.

DROPPED88
12-25-2002, 09:51 PM
ok cool

rabbit_66_61
12-25-2002, 11:15 PM
yep thats what i've been doin for my shaved side moldings welded a big thick strip and bondo it. Works great for me no cracks at all

blok2400
12-26-2002, 06:18 AM
im still a newbie but what do you mean by shaved?

Mike's89AccordLX
12-26-2002, 06:22 AM
Remove the door trim, emblems (Honda, Accord, Model, H's), door handles, antenna, there's some more I just can't think of them at the moment.

socal3rdgen
12-26-2002, 08:19 AM
Originally posted by rabbit_66_61
yep thats what i've been doin for my shaved side moldings welded a big thick strip and bondo it. Works great for me no cracks at all

wont that warp the metal. when you weld the shet metal on the car. and what about changing temps. expanding and contracting. metal will do that, but the bondo wont.

Tim Yoak
12-27-2002, 07:17 PM
:confused: to do that much filling you need to use metal, bondo isn't meant to be that thick, if you are an experienced welder, it shouldn't be too hard, if not have a body shop do it and get it done right.

Mike's89AccordLX
12-27-2002, 07:20 PM
Tim is right on with this one. Bondo would crack if you put it on that thick. It's best to weld a strip of metal over it and fill the gap with some foam or something.

Tim Yoak
12-27-2002, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by DROPPED88
when you shave your molding do you just fill it in with bondo after you remove the molding or do you have to weld in a filler piece then bondo over that before you remove the molding look at this link at some of the different ideas at painting it etc. just scroll down until you see the white honda accord hb www.pauldesign.ru/honda/ph_bodykit.html

dXsquared