PDA

View Full Version : 1988 accord lx problems

zach_benny
01-27-2015, 08:15 PM
Ok so I bought this car from a friend and it has the weber k728 carb on it. Since I've had it it will smell like gas fumes when I shut of engine. When I cut it off it sounds like it's misfiring and the key is in the off position. It has a automatic and when coming from a stop it stumbles like it's in a higher gear and shakes if I accelerat without putting it in D2. Car also shook at idle before I adjusted it just a little to keep it from shaking so bad. Any input is very much appreciated ! . Thanks

ryan427
01-28-2015, 01:52 PM
I don't have a Weber on my car, but I am definitely experiencing the gas odor. I'm also experiencing flooding at idle but I'm not so sure you are. Pretty certain my base gasket (and other gaskets) are done. There is also gasket beneath the EFE and above it (o-ring insulator) that deteriorate over time. I am only learning this now as I just finished ordering both of those gaskets to have when I pull the original carb and install a rebuilt unit. I don't know if the EFE (early fuel evaporator) is deleted with a Weber install. I wouldn't think so. Small squirts of carb cleaner around the intake and base of carb is a good place to start (with engine running). Also check for vacuum leaks. If the EFE is still there and you need those gaskets, they are Fel-pro 60671 (for the bottom) and Honda part number 16105-PJ7-000 (for the top). Since you have a Weber carb, you might have a different gasket between the EFE and base. Or it might still be the same if the adapter uses that gasket. Worth checking. I am just starting to learn here so I am sure folks with more knowledge will reply.

ryan427
02-24-2015, 05:37 PM
Zach, have you figured out your issue?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

zach_benny
03-21-2015, 05:56 PM