PDA

View Full Version : 88 accord lx wiring

pos88lx
03-19-2015, 09:46 AM
started troubleshooting my (numerous) electrical problems last night. Found this by the brake light (pass. side) tucked up inside the plastic trunk interior. Already had a wiring harness fire the day i bought the car (cig lighter wiring). Had to replace the whole dang thing lol. I'm just a beginner at this electrical stuff and don't really have a clue what I'm doing yet. My problems that i am aware of are
1. Brake light (only one of them)
2. Instrument cluster lights
3. Cooling fan probs
Going to be a challenge! The brake light wiring is confusing with those circuit fault sensors, can't seem to find a diagram worth a damn to help me thru it. I have tons of questions so i hope you all are ready for me haha

Oldblueaccord
03-19-2015, 10:00 AM
http://www.3geez.com/forum/3geez-accords/25137-1986-1989-accord-shop-manual-updated.html

top of the page in the troubleshooting section (3g).

If you got wiring problems and are driving it carry a fire extinguisher and maybe keep the positive battery cable loose enough to pull off quick with pliers.

a nice 12volt test light is very handy also. Up front i always use the key for a ground never fails.

pos88lx
03-19-2015, 10:15 AM
Hah! Thanks for the advice, I'm not driving it though until I go through all of it. Already downloaded the manual, and i havea decent dmm. Just have some more checking to do before i know which questions to ask so i don't waste anyone's time

Oldblueaccord
03-19-2015, 11:46 AM
Hah! Thanks for the advice, I'm not driving it though until I go through all of it. Already downloaded the manual, and i havea decent dmm. Just have some more checking to do before i know which questions to ask so i don't waste anyone's time

well sounds like your all over it. keep checking those wires.