PDA

View Full Version : '88 Accord LXI To Keep Wife happy

Locruid
07-10-2015, 08:35 AM
Hello,

This is my new project a 1988 Honda Accord LXI. This is my first Accord I've owned (own a 92 civic) and for a 25+ year old car I gotta say I'm impressed. Anyways this is what it looked like the day I rolled up to it:

http://i.imgur.com/seWyg93.jpg

EVERYTHING works. The Electric sunroof doesn't leak. The Headlights fully work. Quite honestly I couldn't find a thing wrong with it. Nailed it for $500. Came with After Market Tires you see here with 90% tread left and they were studded. Also came with complete set of Factory Honda wheels with about 20% tread left. The Gentleman mentioned it burns oil. Test drove it a bit and did notice it was smoking. I wasn't concerned much, cause even crap accords around here sell for almost $2k. And since I'm a diesel Mechanic by trade, well a rebuild is pretty cheap for me to do if it became necessary. Anyways I went ahead and bought it for the wife. She has a 2000 Durango with 216k on original powertrain. While it still runs fantastic and doesn't leak anything, I'm getting a bit nervous with it and wanted to take my time rebuilding it. That and her new job is 40 mile round trip and with a 15mpg vehicle....well you get the idea.