PDA

View Full Version : Suspension Help

‹^› ‹(•¿•)› ‹^›
05-21-2002, 06:44 PM
I currently have 17in rims ( 205/40 ) on my chickmagnet of a car...
But since I purchased the rims..The ride has become a reaL drag..new york city streets are a rough ride..
I want to upgrade my whole suspension...But I do not want to lower the car..
Any suggestions??

Jims 86LXI HB
05-21-2002, 11:32 PM
Sure I'll help you, but first,....Define, "I want to upgrade my whole suspension" In other words, what does that mean to you.:)

And can you tell me how the car rides on your 17" rims and tires that has you thinking this way, your answer will help me.:smokin:

‹^› ‹(•¿•)› ‹^›
05-22-2002, 12:33 AM
Thanx JIMS!!
ok.. what I mean by upgrade the suspension..I would like to replace most of the original suspension with performance parts..( shocks , struts and what ever else helps ) bare with me..I am new to this..
My problem with the 17inch rims, is that now i feel every creavice and bump on the road..potholes nad deep manhole covers I just try to avoid. I just want to have a smoother ride..Let me know what u think..:wave:

Jims 86LXI HB
05-22-2002, 12:50 AM
OK, get 16" wheels and tires:D :stick: Just kidding. Well I've seen how tall the sidewall is on your tires so I kinda understand why you feel the way you do. I'd have to say that if you ever did lower your car, it would compound what your feeling now. What tires are you running? What air pressures are you running?

The best solution I can think of is to install at set of struts that are not performace geared. One's that are NOT MENT FOR lowering springs and ment for comfort and smooth ride. That would be KYB GR-2's. But do not get them if you think you might possiblily lower your car in the future. www.tirerack.com has them for hecka cheap. They are valved as oem replacements.