PDA

View Full Version : engine oil choice mistake during last oil change, should I change again?

derolph
09-13-2016, 12:15 PM
I changed oil and filter in my 88 LX-i on 9/9/16. I have been using 5W-30 oil or 10W-30. After this last change, I realized I mistakenly bought 5W-20 during my last visit to the auto parts store, and this is the oil I used for this last change. We could have some more uncomfortably warm days here in Ohio but temperatures will be gradually getting cooler in the next few months as we progress into, and through, fall. I'm wondering whether I should drain the 5W-20 and replace it with 5W-30, or go ahead and run with the 5W-20 until the next normal change time arrives and then get back to 5W-30 oil or 10W-30, the emphasis being on the 20 vs 30 part of the viscosity rating.

conozo
09-13-2016, 05:54 PM
I'm not an expert in oil but i dont think it will matter for you. You live in ohio, it really doesnt get that cold here, 0 or below doesn't really happen often. But i think the biggest reason you are ok is that our engines are very simple, they do not have hydraulic lifters, vtec, or anything hydraulic for that matter.

gp02a0083
09-14-2016, 08:59 AM
As Conzo mentioned, i wouldn't worry about viscosity in relation to ambient temperatures. However, being that most of these cars ( with exception of new rebuilds and low milage "barn" finds) will typically have a decent amount of mileage , i would stick to 10w-30 in general. Also don't forget to read up on msds and TDS sheets to make sure the oil your using has a decent amount of metal dopants that put less wear on the valve train.

derolph
09-16-2016, 07:01 AM