PDA

View Full Version : Have you ever heard of turning the rotors while they are still on the car?

Chrome_thangs
02-04-2003, 11:23 PM
The place where i got my alignment does it. They said it's better than taking em off to do it. How true is this?

YK86
02-04-2003, 11:39 PM
I'm not a proffesional but I have never heard of doing it with it still on the car.

anchovies
02-05-2003, 12:35 AM
They have it in some bigger shops.
They call it "on-car rotor turning" brake lathe.
Saw it on auto-week or two-guys garage or something. Don't know if it's better than conventional way.

AZmike
02-05-2003, 12:36 AM
They say it's ok in the Honda service manual.

dj99
02-05-2003, 09:01 AM
On the newer Accords (and others), the rotors don't pop off with two screws like ours do. ;) You have to take the whole hub off to get the rotor too. So it's just easier and quicker to lathe them right on the car. They roll this beast up to the car on the hoist and bolt it to the hub.

89NinjaAccordLX
02-05-2003, 01:16 PM
Ford and Honda both use the on-car system now. Other manufacturers might as well, but my school taught us how to use the two from Ford and Honda. On-car is better than off car for this reason: on-car takes hub runout and other factors on the car into account when cutting the rotors. The ford machine turns the rotor wheras the Honda machine uses the engine power to turn the axles and thus cut the rotors. However, the first time you ever USE one of the on-car lathes you will be frustrated as crap. There's so many adjustments and calculations you have to make just to set up the lathe right its insane. Speed comes with practice though. You might just want to take off the rotor and say "screw runout". Whatever.

Chrome_thangs
02-05-2003, 05:38 PM
On-car is better than off car for this reason: on-car takes hub runout and other factors on the car into account when cutting the rotors.
Ya that what he was telling me. I thought it was bullshit because i'd never heard about it. Thnx