PDA

View Full Version : SE-i Bose head unit observation

carotman
10-06-2017, 06:54 AM
With our cars slowly becoming classics, I had the idea to slowly prepare it to return to "stockish" form regarding the radio.

I have a Bose head unit here that I thought was broken. The "BASS" knob doesn't turn completely to the right.

It turns out that this is by design!

Bose FAQ - CB7Tuner Forums (http://www.cb7tuner.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=22777)

I can't believe I'm still learning new things about these cars.

Dr_Snooz
10-07-2017, 07:08 PM
I spent a few years shopping for high end stereo equipment and restoring my Dad's old vacuum tube stereo. If you keep asking around in old electronics shops, vintage stereo shops and high end stereo boutiques, you can sometimes get a referral for someone who will go through your old car stereo and restore it for you. It's pretty expensive (~$600 when I was asking around 15 years ago or so), but worth it if you have an irreplaceable unit like one of those Bose's.

AC439
10-15-2017, 01:32 PM