PDA

View Full Version : [Honda] Tricky no start situation on a 1984 Honda accord

a_friend_in_need=a_f
08-01-2019, 10:07 PM
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to joining forums though I've been taking advice from them for years. I've got this really tricky issue with my Honda accord and I just can't seem to locate the root of the problem. Sometimes the car will run fine and I'll be convinced that whatever recent repairs I've made had done the trick, but then I go to start my car after getting off work and the worst of the symptoms have returned. I know you're all anxious to know what's going on, so here it is.
I'll pump a little gas into the carb and start the engine and *surprise* it starts right up. But moments later my rpms drop all the way down and the engine dies, as if suddenly it's run out of fuel. I'll attempt to restart it to no avail, it just keeps cranking. I've replaced all the plug wires, all the spark plugs, the ignition coil, inspected and cleaned all electrical connections within the distributor, replaced the fuel pump and fuel filter, vacuum tested the choke circuit, and still can't figure this thing out. I'm currently writing this post from inside the car at night hoping that it'll somehow get me home! Because sometimes after sitting for a while if I attempt to restart it after all the failed attempts it will just start right up. Any pointers would be appreciated! Thanks!

a_friend_in_need=a_f
08-07-2019, 03:54 PM