PDA

View Full Version : Timing Belt Replacement. Including seals, tensioner, water pump.

jjsamc
05-14-2020, 01:03 PM
Just wanted to post the outline I wrote while replacing the timing belt. This also includes changing out the water pump, crank and cam oil seals, the three oil pump gaskets, and the timing belt tensioner. For a few days before I started, I studied the instructions in Haynes manual, the Honda shop manual, and the free service guide on the AutoZone website. And of course, found some good info on this forum. I worked real slow and careful and I recommend a lot of patience, the right tools, documentation, and good mechanical aptitude. I also used a lot of rags to clean things up.
I noticed the old timing belt was very loose which probably explains why my timing used to bounce around whenever I tried to set it. Now it stays nice and steady. And eliminated leaks at oil pump, crankshaft seal, and leaking water pump.
This is on a 1986 Accord LXi with auto transmission and 155K miles. I do not claim this is the best and only method to do this job, but it worked for me:

•Jack up front of car until wheels are off the ground. Use jack stands to support car securely.
•Remove front left wheel. Disconnect the negative battery cable.
•Remove spark plugs (makes it easier to turn the crank manually).
•Remove valve cover (three 10mm nuts, hose, and ground wire).
•Remove upper timing belt cover (two 10mm bolts).
•Use 17mm socket on crank pulley bolt and turn CCW until you can see the pointer pointing to the “T” through the inspection hole located a few inches below the distributor and near the exhaust manifold.
•The word “UP” on the cam sprocket should point up and the two tiny timing marks on the cam sprocket teeth should align with the engine surface where the valve cover sits.
•Loosen water pump pulley bolts slightly then loosen alternator belt tension. Loosen AC compressor belt tension. Loosen power steering pump belt tension. Remove all three belts.