PDA

View Full Version : Subs and amps...

Microstreak
03-07-2003, 07:15 PM
Ive been wanting to get these subs for a while now, but they operate at only 1 + 4 ohms. wht kind of amp can i use? only 1 or 4? and if the amp says 1800w x1 x 1 ohm, can i split into two subs or what would i have to do? ,:confused:
also can i wire the subs at 2 ohms instead. im new to subs and amps? thanks in advance for any help.

btw im planning on gettin audiobahn AW1208Qs and prolly a amp from audiobahn too...

xbi0s
03-08-2003, 09:52 AM
Okay, just a little review incase you didn't know.

The lower the Ohms the better...

When it says it runs @ 1 Ohm, that means its stable at that much power.

You can pump less ohms into it, yes and still get some kickass sound

Right now I am running a pair of MTX 5000 Series 12" subs with a 280w thunderseries amp... Bridged to both subs.

Im guessing Im running around 4 Ohms, and I think the subs can handle at least 2 Ohms

All i know is my car fucking pounds, too much so where I have a bad rattle outside..

So yes, you can run at higher ohms..

For an amp.. I'd check out the Flame Q series of amps from Audiobahn

My friend has 3 Flame Q 12" and a Flame Q amp (1600w) and his shit fucking POUNDS

They have pretty nice designs on the amps as well.

Bobs89LXi
03-08-2003, 07:02 PM
xbi0s, you are confusing ohms with watts. The ohm is a value of resistance, or in the case of AC current, impedence. The lower the impedence, the less power (wattage) is required to overcome it. You can change the overall impedence by the wiring your subs in parallel or series. I have a post in the FAQ section explaining it.

Microstreak
03-09-2003, 09:03 PM
i kind of understand now, but is it possible to hook up a 2 ohm amp w/ a 1 ohm sub, jus as an example. or i dunno. and xbios, i thought that more ohm, means better sound quality, so isn't that better? im not sure, anybody else have any other comments or suggestions?

shepherd79
03-10-2003, 04:18 AM