PDA

View Full Version : Replacing head gasket/stuck around timing belt removal.

mrlx
08-18-2020, 05:49 PM
So I'm replacing my head gasket (hopefully is the problem) on my 86 LXi hatch because coolant got mixed in with my oil and is now chocolate milky. It also somehow got into my fuel injection/intake box. I removed the exhaust, distributor, thermostat, alternator belt, power steering belt, ac belt, and intake bolts are all off as well as most vacuums on it are disconnected. Left motor mount is removed. Im trying to get the timing belt off now and am confused. I got the pump pulley off and the book says to remove the alternator? But im not sure if thats needed. Looking for suggestions or what you all have done. Been at this for a few days and its my first time doing it because I couldnt justify paying a grand for just a head gasket. This way I can replace all old hoses and broken bits and pieces. Thank you all for any advice in advance.

Oldblueaccord
08-18-2020, 07:49 PM
I dont remember taking the alt off but my tip since this is your first time doing it is pull it if your not sure. First time jobs like that are much easier when you pull alot of stuff outta the way. Once you get good at that then Im sure you will add in some short cuts.

I know usually you just pull the head and intake together since those under neath bolts are a pia.

If your replacing the timing belt the crank pulley bolt can a real bitch.

https://www.3geez.com/forum/3geez-accords/25137-1986-1989-accord-shop-manual-updated-5.html

Shop manual download might help.

mrlx
08-18-2020, 08:58 PM
I somehow got all the intake under bolts off but I think im going to pull it off anyways because of the mix of liquids inside it to clean it out. Yeah the crank situation got me scratching my head.

Oldblueaccord
08-18-2020, 09:08 PM
Well you can cheat and not put a new timing belt on it although you really should.