PDA

View Full Version : electrical short?

Cat3
04-03-2003, 09:26 PM
hi,

my 89 honda accord sedan DX is acting up...
and i'm afraid the car is going to catch fire...

here's what it's doing...

I deliver pizzas for a living... which requires a lot of very short trips... turning the car off and on many times per shift...

now... while i'm driving... at seemingly random times, the tach just drops to zero... and i have to coast to a stop and then restart the car...
while i'm stopped, i notice an "electrical fire" smell...
which leads me to believe that this problem is caused by an electric short somewhere...

I just recently replaced the alternator with one bought from autozone... and the car works fine otherwise... and the battery light doesn't come on... so i'm thinking it's not the alternator... but... i'm not ruling it out...

like i said... there doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason to the engine turning off... and it doesn't stall out or anything...
like if i'm stopped when it does it... i sometimes don't even realize it's turned off until i try to accelerate...
also... i don't know if it'll help any... but here's another thing i noticed that kinda seems to maybe in some way be related... though it could just be coincidence... because i do make a lot of turns while driving through neighborhoods.... but... i've noticed that sometimes when i turn the blinker on, it'll die...
though like i said... it might just be coincidence... because it only coincides with the blinker thing sometimes.... actually... more often than not.. it doesn't. But i thought i'd mention that just in case.

Has anyone here ever had a problem similar to this?
or maybe have any suggestions on things to look at?
I rely heavily on my car, as it is my job to drive... so it is imperative that i get this problem solved quickly...

Also... visually, there aren't any clues to what's happening... ie: no burned wires or black marks from sparks.