PDA

View Full Version : WANTED: A20 engine mods

CoconutboyLXi
05-30-2003, 11:25 AM
okei i was just wondering on what i can do to my engine (stock a20)... what can i do first and so on and so forth...

and what are the stages to tuning the engine if there is one... sorry dont flame ... im new at this and all info to me is new info so post up and tell me ur thoughts

ALTERED4
05-30-2003, 01:54 PM
playing grand turismo quite a bit there havent we :tongue:...

all kidding aside, many will disagree with me here, but in all honesty, i dont feel the a20 is much of a performer, imo, the motor really has no potential, unless you were to completely build the block up (lots of custom work) and turbo the crap out of the motor... by the time you are done doing that, you would have spent enough money to pay for a college education at a good school...

save your money, get a swap... start off with a good platform that has lots of aftermarket support...

1988starter
05-30-2003, 02:20 PM
open loop has proven the a20 can be a great motor esp with it's ability to generate a fair amount of low end grunt. Start with the basics intake (do a search try 92 civic) header and exchaust 2.25 then come back

Sabz5150
05-30-2003, 02:25 PM
Originally posted by CoconutboyLXi
and what are the stages to tuning the engine if there is one... sorry dont flame ... im new at this and all info to me is new info so post up and tell me ur thoughts

If you want to put it in stages, then your first start would be the basic I/H/E setup. Intake, headers and exhaust. Basic bolt-ons that don't take too much work to install. Since you're carbed, your best bet is to go with a Weber (or a pair if you're so inclined). A set of Pacesetter headers and a cat-back exhaust with a high flow cat or test pipe will reduce any restrictions in airflow.