PDA

View Full Version : Need vacuum pump for AC work!

rustyaccord
05-30-2003, 06:18 PM
I'm having a hard time finding a vacuum pump to do my AC system. If anyone could refer me to any place they know that loans them out it would be great. If you own one perhaps I could borrow it, or come to you and get it vacuumed, perhaps with your favorite beer in hand :)

I noticed there is a $13.99 air powered vacuum pump on harbor freight, but it doesn't include the necessary hoses, and I don't have a compressor to power it either.

I'm a student and pretty low on cash.. If I can't get it cheap I'll just have to sweat :(

I'm located in Tewksbury, MA, near the ma/nh border.

TIA

shepherd79
05-30-2003, 06:21 PM
did you try autozone?

rustyaccord
05-30-2003, 06:36 PM
hmm, yes I read on another board someone got one from autozone, but I called the one in salem, nh and they said they don't loan one, but they have one for $300+ if I become a commercial customer. Perhaps I should try some other autozone stores? (or the employee was confused?).

Also everyone points me to taylor rental but they don't seem to offer it either.

Jareds 89 LX-i
05-30-2003, 08:05 PM
Plenty of them on ebay :) Type "vacuum pump" in the search box. From what I've read, Robinair makes some of the best pumps

infecto
05-30-2003, 08:13 PM
Go steal one from a junkyard car?

infecto
05-30-2003, 08:14 PM
Oh that kind of pump...hits himself...to what get the feron out or what?

Jareds 89 LX-i
05-30-2003, 08:26 PM
You need the vacuum pump to deep evacuate the system. After all the freon is out, you have to put the pump on for about 1/2 hour or so, until it pulls at least 27in Hg of vacuum or more. That gets all the air and moisture out of the system, which is very important for both cooling effeciency of the system, and reliability of the components. After it is vacuumed, you can then recharge it with freon.

rustyaccord
05-30-2003, 08:27 PM