PDA

View Full Version : Looking to increase performance...

frankiebonez
06-05-2002, 10:25 PM
Check out my post on the General board for more info on my car and how much of a newbie I am :D

Anyway, I got some suggestions and aside from some new, high quality spark plugs, wires, and an intake I'm kinda clueless as to what else I should do to ramp up the performance of my Honda. What's got the most bang for the buck and will I notice the increase in performance? Hell, will I notice an increase from a tune-up, plugs, wires, and intake upgrades?

As I said in my General forum post, I'm a total newbie to cars. I just got my '88 Accord with only 38K miles on it and I wanna pimp it out in a non-rice fashion.

I'm looking to initially spend about $1000 on some upgrades - and I just want to know what that would be best spent on. Thanks.

Also, what stuff do you think I could do on my own and what would I need a shop to do? I'm pretty good at tinkering and can usually fix stuff myself. What kinda prices am I looking at for some of these upgrades?

YK86
06-05-2002, 11:15 PM
Since I don't have time to list everything and the prices and how to install it, I would either look throught this whole forum and look over any topics that might interest you. Also, do a search on intake, header, exhaust, cam, engine swaps, etc. You will find tons of info. Spend a day or so reading everything and I'm sure any questions you have or may have in the future will be answered.

ACCORD EX
06-06-2002, 12:34 AM
you didn't mention if it was carb or EFI ( LX , LXi ) i > stands for EFI ! :D

any way if you have EFI make a COLD AIR INTAKE ( CAI ) by your self !

if you got carb flip the lid for free ! :D ( it means to flip the cover of the air box and screw it back on ! )

these are the cheapest mod you can do ! :)

MIKE

87accordlx
06-06-2002, 11:38 AM
for $1000 you can do the following
regrind cam, webber carb, headers and cat back exhaust