PDA

View Full Version : sick of carby

Accordie
06-09-2003, 10:56 PM
Hey peeps i've seen some posts on how people convert carb to EFI, im not a mechanic or anything but i want EFI so u reckon those shops out there would do the conversion? Or is this conversion for home projects only?
Is it possible to bring it to the shop and tell them u want an EFI conversion? How much would it cost? Anyone know?
Carburettor always got problems.

shepherd79
06-10-2003, 03:25 AM
IMO, should just sell the car and get EFI 3G.
EFI conversion is very hard and long. Not all the shops will do it.

A20A1
06-10-2003, 03:38 AM
Hey where in Australia are you?

POS carb
06-10-2003, 11:13 AM
an EFI conversion is tricky, you can't just say you want an EFI conversion. If you want to go the most economic route look into a TBI conversion using maybe junkyard parts from GM cars of the late 80's like the 2.4's or whatever size they are, those should flow nice for the 2.0 accord.

if you're looking for something REALLY good without too much chopping up your car look into MPFI setup with a programable ECU. You can hook up a laptop and tune everything, many aftermarket stand-alone ECU's come with multiple inputs you can use to run knock sensors, o2 sensors, tps, MAP, pyrometers, etc, but a MAP, TPS, and O2 should be plenty to start with to get badass drivability/MPG/power and you don't have to worry about swapping wiring harnesses and all the other time-consuming parts of the swap, however this setup is generally the most expensive but the best to start with because you don't need to upgrade anything but your injectors and pump if you go to bigger and better things and your reprogramming is all via laptop, no damn PROM chips

1988starter
06-10-2003, 05:20 PM
This should help
http://www.geocities.com/carotman/howto/howto.html

carotman
06-10-2003, 06:10 PM
Well, I know how it sounds but the EFI conversion is really easy... it's just time consuming.