PDA

View Full Version : Part compatibility and fuel injection question

frankiebonez
06-06-2002, 06:29 PM
I seem to notice you guys talking a lot about Pacesetter headers, DC Sport exhausts, etc. I'm new to the scene and I have been to about 10 different online parts shops and none of them have much in the way of performance parts for our cars. I see you guys talking about all these things, but can't find anything. My question is: are some parts from the later Accords and Civics compatible with our cars with a little tweaking, or is it just frickin' hard to find parts for 3geez?

I've read over the How To build your own Air Intake guide, and I plan on building my own. As far as exhaust, muffler, and header upgrades...I can't seem to find any parts for the 88 Accord.

I was also wondering if our cars have fuel-injection? I've heard different stuff, so I honestly don't know.

If you guys know a good online parts store that has the parts I need for my car, let me know. I'm running an automatic LX, so I assume I can't use any LXi parts...

89accordlxi
06-06-2002, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by frankiebonez
My question is: are some parts from the later Accords and Civics compatible with our cars with a little tweaking, or is it just frickin' hard to find parts for 3geez?

I was also wondering if our cars have fuel-injection? I've heard different stuff, so I honestly don't know.

If your car is an lx then No, your car is not fuel injected.
That is what the "i" in lx-i stands for. lx-i's are injected.

It is very hard to find aftermarket performance parts for our cars. The only thing I've heard people modify from civic is a short ram intake. Other then that, I don't think any parts from later accords
will fit our cars without extensive modifications. I guess some people have used coil overs from later accords as well.
If your car is an lx that also means you probably won't be able to use a cold air intake on it.