PDA

View Full Version : Need a bit of help from experienced 3geez mechanics re:an idle problem.

KaMiKaZeE
06-30-2003, 02:35 PM
Well this is dealing with the LX-i hatch, and it has the surging idle thing going on where while sitting still the idle just goes up and down, up and down between almost stalling and about 1500-2000 RPM. I know that others have had this same thing, and I know that everyone says it is probably the fast-idle air valve, or a vaccum leak, or the PCV valve, or a fuel pressure regulator problem, or one of the many parts of the emmissions control system. Anyway, my question is, without replacing half my car unnecessarily, how do I pinpoint the exact cause so I will know what thing to mess with? I do work on my cars quite a bit so I'm not a total noob, but I get tired of replacing a bunch of stuff I didn't have to so if you guys can give me a simple testing procedure for the obvious stuff like the FIAV it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!:)

Justin86
06-30-2003, 03:13 PM
Well is the ECU throwing out ant codes. My was throwing a code 12 EGR and I took it off and cleaned it up, then my car ran fine. Before it would surge and then it would die.

KaMiKaZeE
06-30-2003, 03:41 PM
Hey thanks justin I didn't even think to check for error codes. I've never tried to check any codes on a 3g though, and I don't have a code reader, so what do i need to get/do to check it?

bigpoppa88
06-30-2003, 07:30 PM
Don't you read the codes on your ecu? It's under your seat, open the little door on it, you see it under the drivers seat from behind the seat....

speedr409
07-03-2003, 08:01 AM