PDA

View Full Version : Car wont start after i wen out of GAS

LeXUS_
07-02-2003, 07:48 AM
Yesterday i was driving and i had very little gas left,after a while car stops and i fill gas,car wont start again,so i rolled it down the street and it starts but there is no power,i push the gas pedal but nothing happens,and it seems like the car is not getting the fuel,i am very new with this car stuff,what is wrong and how can i fix it..

Honda Accord 1986 EX CARB (manuel transmission)(European versjon)

Dibbs
07-02-2003, 08:20 AM
Have you:

- Cleaned Carb lately
- Checked Spark Plugs for fouling
- Checked Cap and Rotor for wear
- Inspected Coil Wire for fire
- Inspected plug wires for fire

Any of these can contribute to poor engine performance. Also since this seems to be happening when you're low on fuel, try checking for water or trash in the gas tank. That's a good starting point.

89accord_lxi_coupe
07-02-2003, 08:21 AM
get a few more opinions, but i would say it's the pump or relay.

Morpheus
07-02-2003, 09:04 AM
Could he maybe spray carb cleaner in the carb while trying to start it?

johndej
07-02-2003, 09:23 AM
yeah, splash some gas or starter fluid on your carb then have someone start it.

johndej
yeah, splash some gas or starter fluid on your carb then have someone start it.

3G Jester
*buzzer sound*
nope.....

sounds liek a dirty fuel filter to me! they get really messy it you drive around on empty all the time.

markmdz89hatch
07-02-2003, 10:21 AM
yeah, I'm with Travis. First, mainly b/c they're real cheap and very easy to change, not to mention it never hurts to do it. Change the fuel filters. Then, pump the gas pedal a few times with the car off. Start it. It should race for a few seconds while it's burning off the extra fuel.

How did the car idle when it did start?