PDA

View Full Version : car overheating

xaccordx89x
08-21-2003, 03:18 PM
This is my first time with this car that it has overheated with me. I was driving and my car was on idle on the road and i saw the needle started to go up slowly, so i quickly turned on the heat and pulled over to throw in some water. This just reminded me that i haven't changed the coolant/flush the system in a while, could this be the problem that its overheating?

Mike89Accordcom
08-21-2003, 03:51 PM
Yeah most likely. Could also be your radiator. Another possibility could be one of your fans isn't coming on. You have 2.

blok2400
08-21-2003, 04:16 PM
yeah that happend to me. The fans were not comming on due to a messed up sensor. The guy fixed it pretty quick but if they really wont come on make sure your a\c is on weather it works or not. It turned my fans on untill i could get to the mechanic.

Mac
08-21-2003, 04:28 PM
Yeah, you are better off putting on your A/C than heat. If your A/c works the fans will come on, the heat won't turn on the radiator fans. You need to see if your radiator fan is working. There is a switch in the bottom of radiator that turns the fan on when it gets hot. If you disconnect the plug and jumper it out, the fan should come on with the key on. If it doesn't you have a wiring problem. If it does come on your switch is shot. First check to see if fan comes on during idle (when it gets hot at idle).

Vinny
08-21-2003, 07:55 PM
You said you pulled over to throw in some water. Was it low???? In addition to changing fluids you should have your radiator cap pressure checked to make sure its still good, that can cause overheating. Make sure you bleed the system as well after you change fluid. Also before you go off jumpering Temp sensors check all your fuses, there's one in the engine compartment for the Radiator fan

xaccordx89x
08-21-2003, 09:28 PM