PDA

View Full Version : Installing Head Unit, NEED HELP

89AcCOrDmike
08-29-2003, 06:59 PM
Okay, i'm kinda new at this, but how hard is it to install a head unit? I've heard its a breeze, and i just wanted reassurance that i could do it on my own. There are three things i'm planning on installing into my car that are electric and i am gonna list them and if you know about installing them and any tips you have PLEASE tell them to me so i have as much knowledge as possible so i don't dick anything up.

1st- I'm installing the head unit (pioneer DEH-6500) if anyone can give me a basic outline on how to do this i'd be very appreciative.

2nd- I'm puttin my subs in, they have a sony amp and i'm only confused on two things:
A. The metal ring for the amp power cable that hooks up to the battery seems to be too small to hook around the positive side, so where do i put it, also, if the amp already has a fuse in it, do i still need to use the fuse that the wiring kit comes with?
B. Where do i ground the amp to?

3rd- OK its a little ricey but i like it, i'm installing neons under my dash and under steering wheel, there going to be hidden and i want to put them onto a switch, but where do i hook the switch's power up to? can i just tap it into the cigarette lighters electric line? or do i have to wire it somewhere else

Thanks for reading it, i know it is long but any help will greatly be appreciated! thanks again!

88' Accord Ltd
08-29-2003, 07:27 PM
1. There is a screw in the back of the headunit holding it into the dash, remove it and it slides out. check this out from the how-to for the factory wiring...

http://www.3geez.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93

2a. Either get a bigger connector or like shove it through the rubber connector. It just has to touch the batterys + but I would get a bigger connector and not be ghetto. You should always use the inline fuse, its more protection. I don't know a shop that would install an amp unless you had one.