PDA

View Full Version : loss of accel when pedal goes too far! Can it be diagnosed?

MarkgM
09-17-2003, 03:54 PM
I have an '87 Accord LX, 2 bbl carb, auto trans. This is my first time here, got the link from someone I met at alt.autos.honda.

I did a simple rebuild of this carb (main gaskets, needle valve) about 20,000 miles ago. Recently, I had an aftermarket fuel pump in line to the carb just after the aux. filter. The reason why I did that was because of an intermittent electrical problem to the fuel pump. Sometimes it was Ok, sometimes it stopped completely.
I changed the ignition wiring, and got rid of the extra fuel pump, I was worried about too much fuel pump pressure causing problems.

So, here's the problem. It's running fine until I push the gas pedal down more than half way or so, and then, no more power, it may be described as sputtering a bit (but not really sputtering). It won't go faster if the pedal is too far, but lighten up and it goes back to good accelerating behavior. I can't test it at speeds higher than around 35-40 mph right now, no vehicle reg. and I'm on a residential street.

Without any other changes, I stuck a pressure gauge on the fuel line to the carb, and it showed 2 pounds of pressure. The Haynes manual says remove and short a couple of lines to the fuel pump relay, but I haven't quite figured out which one is the fuel pump relay just yet. Anyways, how could not enough fuel pump pressure cause a problem that reproduces itself right away?

The accelerator pump, when not running, give it some throttle, and it shoots gas into the first barrel Ok. I connected manifold vacuum up to the Throttle Control Diaphragm, and that made it rev up well when at idle (with the other line 28 plugged). The dist. vacuum advance also appears to be responding to manifold vacuum Ok at this point.