PDA

View Full Version : Just got an 89 LXi Coupe...for FREE!

lecherousjester
09-30-2003, 10:09 PM
Just wanted to say hey, I'm looking forward to picking up a ton of things off this forum to get the most out of my car and hopefully see that odometer roll past 300k (210k now). I do have a couple questions for you guys, though. I skimmed the FAQ and didin't see anything on it, so hopefully you won't kill me if I missed it. Either way, I am a newbie, and quite stupid on this stuff, so hopefully you guys can bear with me.

First off - The transmission. (Automatic. I'd rather have MT, but free is free) When turning onto a street, or in a parking lot...basically anywhere where it'd drop from 3rd to 2nd, it seems like it drops down into 1st for a split second and then goes into 2nd. I'm usually going anywhere from 15-25 mph when it does this, with minimal pressure on the gas. Is this a problem, or something normal? My uncle, who I got the car from, said he thinks it's always done that for him, but he doesn't remember.

Second - Is there any kind of cheap aftermarket air filter that might let the engine breathe a bit better and possibly give me a bit better gas mileage, possibly even a tiny bit more power? I'm a cheap bastard, so I'm not really looking to spend too much, ideally under $50, but I could go under $100 if it was warranted. I'm not expecting too much... maybe a 1-2 MPG increase in mileage and maybe a 3-5 HP jump...is this attainable, and what brand/type of intake should I be looking at?

Third - For minor parts and such (door handles, switches, etc), will they fit from any 3rd gen Accord? I plan on going to the junkyard soon and grabbing a few minor parts just in case, and I'm wondering if it's all interchangeable from 86-89.

And just in case you're interested, pics of the car (http://www.lecherousjester.com/upload/honda/). I'll have engine pics soon, but I'm sure you guys have all seen it before.