PDA

View Full Version : A little late

k-roy
10-02-2003, 11:22 PM
I have been on this board for several months now and I just realized I have not had a proper introduction. I am a 22 yr old student (currently on leave from school due to a move). I am an avid mechanic, I am not looking for a career in automobiles, I just like to tinker with my own. This is my third vehicle.

I have had my car for about two years now. I paid $900 for a 87 LX 4 door 5 speed with 109,000 on the od. Within three weeks I damaged the original clutch, my first stick oh well, and blew the motor. I got a OE clutch kit from the dealer witch I regret, should have got a centerforce for the same price. I purchased a rebuilt B.S. motor from an 86 for $500. The motor runs strong. My car has a cheap paint job that is starting to flake off (the stupid assholes at maaco did not even sand down the old paint) the original paint that is exposed is smooth. I also have a off color fender due to a hit and run shithead in a parking lot, and I can not match the color, oh well. My car runs great and has been reliable since I have replaced lots of stuff.

I have replaced the engine, clutch, rf fender. fuel pump, rusted out front crossmember, rear bumper, alternator, water pump, radiator, brake pads, brake drum shoes and hardware, cd player and speakers (nothing great), driveshafts, and various tune up components. I did all the work myself with the exception of the motor and clutch.

Mods:
Removed all the extra vaccum lines (thanx for the howto), removed power steering (useless on such a light car), removed A/C (dead), painted the bumpers black. I am in the process of modifing a 4th gen civic airbox for use with a k&n filter.

Future mods: