PDA

View Full Version : Always in the break down lane

atom1414
10-15-2003, 07:17 AM
Ive seen a lot of the messages that you guys have posted, and mine basicly the same. I have a 89 accord LX auto. its a pretty nice car, good title and everything but the thing that pisses me off is that Im driving down the interstate of Vermont thats not flat, and all hills, and Im driving and when going up a hill and pressing the gas harder and harder to get more power doest work. Im sick of the break down lane. So I descovered that if you turn it off for a few it will work alright again depending on how long you leave it off. I know a little bit about cars but Im no expert. I would just like some help.

Id rather see if I could fix it myself the spend $70 just to have someone tell me what it is

thanx guys

HostileJava
10-15-2003, 08:51 AM
Well you more then likely have a heat problem, somthings is getting to hot and not working and when you turn the car off it cools down and starts working again. Where does your coolant temp gauge rest once the car is warmed up?

atom1414
10-15-2003, 08:53 AM
about a quarter above the cold mark, the engine never overheats

NXRacer
10-15-2003, 08:57 AM
isnt there some fix for bypassing the collant line to the carb manifold that gives more power? Hey atom, do a search for coolant bypass and you might come up with a fix for your problem.

HostileJava
10-15-2003, 08:58 AM
That's a tough problem to troubleshoot without driving the car and experiencing it yourself. It could be caused by numerous things(to numerous to mention). Does it cut in and out at all or do you just slowly loose power? When was the last time the car had a tuneup (Rotor, Cap, plugs, wires)?

atom1414
10-15-2003, 09:08 AM