PDA

View Full Version : NEED HELP from EFI newbie

shepherd79
11-20-2003, 02:33 PM
ok guys,
here is the deal.
My new car is EFI, and i am not EFI wiz guys. i grew up on carburators. I need any help i can get from you guys.
ok, here is the deal.
I finaly started my car today, after working on it for the past 3 weeks.
anyway. it is not running right. the idle goes up and down and it is very low.
when i turn AC the idle drop way low, and the engine wants to die.
ECU is not throwing any codes. everything seems to be ok.

the only mod i done so far is headers. they are pacessetter headers. it has 2 oxygen sensors, so i used cylinder 3-4 for the ECU oxygen sensor. the other one is not connected. My car came with one sensor. would this affect my idle? should i wire two sensors together?

oh how do i adjust the idle?
would ignitor cause the idle to go up and down on EFI?

i am still learning about EFI problems. so help me out.
thanks.

NXRacer
11-20-2003, 02:36 PM
you need both sensors. I test drove a car that did the same exact thing and i figured out that the 02 sensor was bad. thats whats causing the idle fluctuation.

shepherd79
11-20-2003, 04:11 PM
ok so do i just connect two sensors in to one wire?
my car is 86 EFi with BT engine, and it has one O2 sensor stock.
so i just should connect the two sensors together so it will become one sensor. is it right?

accordlxi2.0
11-21-2003, 06:04 AM
that should work considering that it's only monitering the pass. side of the engine. wire it in parallel it should be fine. or you can check the idle control solenoid.
as for idle there is is a screw within the throttle body. and for the a/c idle there is a screw at the bottom of the diaphram.

Dibbs
11-21-2003, 06:43 AM