PDA

View Full Version : big time engine problem help me out

blown89lxi
12-01-2003, 11:04 AM
i have been back and forth on this site with lots of help from you guys, and now something new popped up, giving me hope of driving my honda again. a little longer than a month ago i was backing up when all of sudden i heard a loud clicking from my engine, i drove for about 50ft then shut the car off. white smoke filled the street. i parked it then a had it towed a week later. when i got it off the flat bed i started it for the hell of it.IT RAN! but it smoked (white smoke). so i ran it for a minute then shut it off. now over a month later i started it up and drove it. i drove it for a few hundred yards. it smokes at idle, then under normal driving it does not smoke. but when it is floored it smokes big time. :wtf:
any help would be greatly appreciated. i am a poor college student with little or no money. help !

shepherd79
12-01-2003, 12:35 PM
congratulations, you have blown head gasket. the coolant is getting into the motor. if i was you, i wouldn't drive like that. the coolant probably in your motor oil already.

AZmike
12-01-2003, 01:45 PM
...or a cracked head. Hopefully it's just the head gasket though.

blown89lxi
12-02-2003, 08:53 AM
i only drove it a few hundred feet to try and diagnose, and its been sitting there for a month, by now would the coolant have gotten to the oil in the oil pan, i checked the oil in the pan and it was normal oil. if that helps determine a cracked head or gasket, i dont know.

3rd GEN
12-02-2003, 09:46 AM
yup.. sounds like a blown head gasket to me
that white smoke is your car burning off the coolant
if it was blue smoke, you would be burning oil

blown89lxi
12-02-2003, 08:02 PM
hey guys im takin it to honda to get them to diagnose it for $40. have you guys had any problems with honda or any thoughts let me know.

rocky2
12-03-2003, 06:21 AM