PDA

View Full Version : clutch engagement question

bobafett
05-01-2002, 11:19 PM
this car has always had an odd clutch... i want to know if it is like this for all of you as well, since i have only driven one of these cars... :)

basically there is a lot of "dead" space, and there is not much room to work with between all/nothing... its not undrivable, but it sure gets some practice to be smooth... but its WAY different than all other sticks i have driven... does anybody know if this is common, or if there is something i can do about it?

we have had the clutch replaced, but the situation stayed the same....

ps, sorry if i didnt explain that well, i am a newbie to cars, lol!!!

dosh8er
05-02-2002, 06:49 AM
ROTFL. :D

Yeah, there is a big difference between a 3g and any other stick vehicle I've driven. I am exactly where you're at man. I replaced my clutch a couple thousand ago, but it still does it. I've learned the art of the clutch though. (at least mine) I had adjusted it about a thousand ago, and it had a lot of travel. But, if i set my foot on the clutch, and really ever-so-slowly let off with my foot all the way resting on the floor, I got a VERY nice shift. (it's really hard to explain, just push that baby all the way down, and try to keep your foot on the floor while really slowly releasing it) Now, I just adj. it a day or two ago, and it releases really quickly. not a lot of travel, but quick release. (no comfort there) You're right, it's either one or the other, unless somebody's had different experience with different parts (aftermarket stuff).

bobafett
05-02-2002, 09:27 AM
oh well, i will learn to live with it... if nothing else it will make me smoother in "easier" cars.... hehe

thx for the reply

88LXiHB
05-02-2002, 09:30 AM
All my friends say mine is wierd, I like it http://forums.off-topic.net/images/smilies/dunno.gif

bobafett
05-02-2002, 09:42 AM