PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat, gas mileage 101

TINBOAT
01-27-2004, 10:42 AM
Okay...I've been seeing lots of posts about poor fuel economy, and low engine temperatures.
I am a mechanic, and spent a very long time working with imports, quite abit of it was Honda exclusive. Just remember that I'm a mechanic, not a scholar, so please bear with me.

Let's start with the thermostat.

Thermostats are NOT installed in your car just to provide heat in the winter. This VERY important mechanical part is made to maintain your engine at PROPER operating temperature. Virtually ALL cars will not run properly, or efficiently, if the thermostat is not functioning , ie: closed, open, or removed.

If you have cooling issues with your car, DO NOT replace your thermostat with a colder opening unit, if your thermostat is in fine working order, you should look elsewhere to diagnose cooling problems, such as a clogged radiator.

A colder thermostat will cause your engine to think it is still in the 'warm-up' mode, and that mode requires more fuel into the combustion chamber to keep the engine running up to full operating temperature, if you have a cabureted model, and a cold running engine, pop the air cleaner lid off, and have a peek down into the carb, and you'll probably see the choke butterfly 1/2 open. Hence forth, dumping more fuel into the engine.
On fuel injected models, the cooler temperatures are compensated by dumping more fuel into the engine via the sensors that tell the ECM that the engine is still cold.

So what's the big deal about dumping more fuel into a semi warm engine ?

Your engine is made of many different metals (iron block, aluminum head), and these metals expand and contract at different rates at different temperatures.
These expansion rates are figured into the design of the engine, and are set to be optimally efficient at a specified temperature...192/195* on Honda's. (and most other cars today)