PDA

View Full Version : exhuast rattle :(

bobafett
05-02-2002, 12:16 AM
when i downshift from 3 > 2nd... or when the rpms are at certain spots, what sounds like my exhaust rattles like a bitch...

also when i am sitting (prolly does it when moving, but i havent "heard" it then) and rev up past 3k, it will make a rattly noise that i cant stand....

i am a car idiot, so i dont know what could be happening, and i dont know what i ought to do to fix it, or diagnose the real problem...

i was thinking it might be a good time for me to look into an upgraded exhaust system , what do you guys find works best? 2.5", 3"??? i am new to these cars, i spent my last few months learning all about eclipses... lol...

1988starter
05-02-2002, 05:15 AM
3" oh god that it big. Go with 2.25 unless you have some major mods on your car. and the ratteling is probably on your heatshield. Look underneath to findout where it is hitting while your car is running if you need it reved have a friend do it.

bobafett
05-02-2002, 09:26 AM
k... well right now i have NO mods... but i figure if i am gonna fix this exhaust, and it needs replacing, then i might as well upgrade... but if 2.25 is fine, then i will do it... theres no sense in useless mods... :)

btw, would 2.5 or 3 be good if i had an engine swap and or a turbo setup?? if so i may consider those options, since i plan on making this car MOVE! :D

bobafett
05-02-2002, 11:43 AM
sorry to be a newbie., but what/where is the heat sheild, i just dont know what i am looking for~

Don87LX
05-02-2002, 12:51 PM