PDA

View Full Version : Fixing Valve Timing - Shortcut Method?

it's paid for
02-04-2004, 10:34 AM
( . . . from TINMAN in a previous thread . . . )
As for the belt tensioner, you just have to loosen the bolt on the idler, and retighten after you have cycled the engine 2 revolutions...DO NOT FORCE TENSION ON THE IDLER, it is preset with a calibrated fulcrum spring.

Okay . . . I'm convinced my ignition timing is out - even though I put on the timing belt about 15 times to get it right, I must've messed it up and gotten it off by a tooth . . . I think I can check the valve timing but is there any way to just "quickly" change a tooth on the cam pulley - some shortcut?

I tried to understand the response from TINMAN in the above quote, but his description is too vague or incomplete for my limited experience . . . remember, I'm not a mechanic & I'm sort of way in over my head on this project . . . the idea of removing the crankshaft pulley, & belts for alternator, water pump & power steering pump, lower & upper timing belt covers, & timing belt tensioner - then slipping it off & back on . . . what a hassle . . . this will probably take me four hours to do this simple task . . . I was hoping for a shortcut . . . and any other useful suggestions . . .

BTW - for those not familiar with this project, I'm working on a 2G with an EK-1 engine - somewhat similar to the 3G engine . . . well, sort of . . .

It's getting fuel, the ignition timing is close enough . . . car runs, but it's slow and builds power slow and it's hard to crank . . .& I've checked the ignition timing so many times I'm confident it isn't that . . . so, I'm pretty sure it has to be the valve timing . . . one peek with the valve cover removed and the crank at TDC mark (not the ignition timin mark) should confirm this, eh?

BTW - I really appreciate your patience with my lack of experience.

Thanks . . . like a whole bunch,

IPF

Vinny
02-04-2004, 10:59 AM