PDA

View Full Version : High Speed Steering Wheel Wobbling

hkplayer
02-09-2004, 09:38 AM
Hi Everyone,

I have read previous posts on this issue but mine is only slightly different and would appreciate all your inputs. Yes, my steering wheel does wobble at about 75km+ but it gets even more wobbley going downhill. I just got my front tires balanced and yes, my front discs/rotors are a little warped (and thin, thus not machineable). I have a feeling its not my brakes though that is causing the wobbling at higher speeds. What do you think?

Thanks for reading and thanks for your posts to come :)

Bloodlust
02-09-2004, 10:20 AM
I have the same problem, and my Dad was in the car at the time that it happened, and he never believed me before, and he said that it was a bad wheel bearing. Keep in mind Im not a mechanical type of guy and have a really bad memory, but I think thats what he said. Hope thats of some help.

hkplayer
02-09-2004, 12:07 PM
Thanks bloodlust, have you had the chance to fix the wheel bearing?

Bloodlust
02-09-2004, 12:53 PM
Thanks bloodlust, have you had the chance to fix the wheel bearing?

Not yet, I just found out about it a few days ago, when I was at my dad's shop. Before I take care of that, i am putting my car in the shop for a week or so to get the rust taken care of and getting the xenon kit on. But thats first priority when it gets out of the shop. After all, I dont want my wheel to fall off when Im taking HostileJava and his wifey to the church to get married :D

hkplayer
02-09-2004, 02:00 PM
From what I have been reading, its a wheel bearing thing if a deep sound is coming out of the suspension of the car...I dont have that. Just the steering wheel wobbling at high speeds - even after a front tire balance (my alignment is also good). Is there anything else that can be causing this? Its a little freaky driving with the wheel like that...and for some reason, its wobbling more after the front tire balance!

Bloodlust
02-09-2004, 02:12 PM