PDA

View Full Version : performance carb

rjudgey
02-22-2004, 12:36 PM
whats the best downdraught carb that will fit an a20 inlet manifold need something beefy, easy to buy secondhand and cheapish as its going on my b20a carb conversion don't won't to use honda carb as their rubbish! thanks rich!

accordlxi2.0
02-22-2004, 12:41 PM
i think weber is the best around, talk to kroy he seem's to know alot about them.

dXsquared
02-22-2004, 12:46 PM
A20A1 knows the most.. but your best bet is a Weber 38mm... its a DGV style carb with two 38mm bores... if your B20 will have headers, cams, exhaust, then it should get the 38mm.. if its gonna be stock, run a 32/36 DGV

Travis

k-roy
02-22-2004, 01:46 PM
I agree, A20A1 knows more about it. Im just a joe schmoe shadetree mechanic for my hobby. I do know a shitload about the 3rd gen Accord though.

For the B20A I would say get a Weber 38mm. They are ocassionally on eBay used. All you will technically need is a adaptor plate and a linkage adaptor available from Weber. Rebuild kits are cheap, I would rebuild a used one, it will cost less than half of new if you do it yourself. A few good things to compliment the bigger carb would be a new higher flow fuel pump, fuel pressure regulator, aftermarket coil, header good plugs with increased gap, thick ass plug wires and some type of custom air intake. If I ever get a weber for the 3G I will go with a hood scoop just for pure shock value.

I agree with Dx here, if your gonna keep it more stock then just get a 32/36 DGV. The primary barrel and even the secondary is smaller and is progressive. The 38mm has two larger bores in the barrels and the throttle plates are synchronous, making better power while decreasing ecomy.

If you do get a weber there is a good book available on it,
http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/0895863774/ref=sib_dp_pt/102-6007531-7261711#reader-link
I have never had to jet a weber, there is a thread somewhere about what sizes people have used.

shepherd79