PDA

View Full Version : remote wire???

86ACRDLX
03-11-2004, 08:39 PM
ok, this is my first time hooking up an amp, i dont know where i am supposed to hook up the remote wire?? i know to the radio, but where??????????? and how?? or can i just find what fuse goes to the radio and hook it up direct, or will that make it stay on all the time?? please help....

k-roy
03-11-2004, 08:48 PM
The remote wire is for a remote grounding. The best way to do this is to run a cable and ground it to where the deck is grounded.

86ACRDLX
03-11-2004, 08:51 PM
i dont understand.....right now i have the power wire from the battery to the amp.......a black ground wire ground to the rear speaker deck.....then i have the rca cales hooked up...........where do i run the remote wire??? right now my amp isnt turning on, so i need to know where to put the remote wire.

k-roy
03-11-2004, 08:56 PM
Run the remote wire to where the deck is grounded underneith the dash.
I would not use the rear deck for a ground. Try using the bolt for the seatbelt.

Here is a kickass site that should answer a few questions for you.
www.the12volt.com

Brentm
03-11-2004, 08:57 PM
your amp isnt turning on because the remote turn on is what turns your amp on when the deck is turned on (it has nothing to do with being a ground) this wire is usually run from the deck to the amp with the RCA wires, it should say rem or soemthing on a little connector on the amp, If you dont know which wire on the deck is for remote turn on, check in the manual that came with the deck, and it should tell you.

86ACRDLX
03-11-2004, 08:59 PM
ok thanks, thats what i needed to know, which wire is for the remote turn on, ok ill check the manual. if i ran the wire to the amp that is for the radio would that work, or would that keep the amp on all the time???

Brentm
03-11-2004, 09:02 PM