PDA

View Full Version : Replacement Keys From Dealership!! PLEASE PLEASE READ!!!!!!!

Jonessoda27
03-21-2004, 07:33 PM
I have a 1987 honda accord LXi i recently bought from a private seller. It has a generic copied key and i was wondering how much it would cost to bring in to a dealership and have it copied as an original honda key with the logo stamped on it? I have heard that if you have the number on the key it can be done. I have a couple numbers written on the owner's manual, i just need to know how many digits it should have. Please Help! DO THEY EVEN DO IT? :dunno: :dunno: :stupid:

By the way im a newbie here, and its my first car and my first 3 gee!!!
I LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!! :rice:

Thanks!

zero.counter
03-21-2004, 07:39 PM
Welcome, and to answer your question...I don't know. You can buy a honda logo stamped blank off of e-bay...

Dennis
03-21-2004, 07:58 PM
Welcome to this site. Use the search button and read the FAQs. :cheers:

lightbulblxi
03-21-2004, 08:05 PM
yea man, just buy a blank key and bring it to a hardware store, they usually copy keys

Jonessoda27
03-21-2004, 11:10 PM
i searched ebay and they dont seem to have any key blanks for 3 gee's!!!!
Any further suggestions?? i dont think you can get a more modern accord key blank. It wont work. I dont know!!! HELP! :crying:

neoblue89lxi
03-21-2004, 11:18 PM
Yes the dealership will make you an original key. All you need is your car vin number and proof that it is yours like registration.

SteveDX89
03-22-2004, 03:08 AM
I had a new one made because the plastic part at the top broke and it wouldn't stay on my key ring. The cost was $3.00 and it was $2.00 for the cut.

Jonessoda27
03-22-2004, 08:01 AM
Thank you neoblue for the reply. I am going to check and see if i can get it done at the dealership. I appreciate the reply. I can sense that there are very cool people on this message board. Thanks to everybody that replied! :rofl: :lock: :rofl:

Mike's89AccordLX
03-22-2004, 10:22 AM