PDA

View Full Version : Mushy brakes ALL THE TIME

mugenprelude86
03-25-2004, 07:18 PM
Well i posted this at preludepower.com and no really help, but i was wondering if you guys knew anything about this..

No matter how well my brakes are bled they are still mushy. I have a new master cylinder, stainless steel flex hoses all around, Brake Bias controller which acts as a residual pressure valve, my calipers were rebuilt last summer alon with new pads and all rotors machined last summer. There has been one or two times where they have felt really nice and crisp with a stiff pedal after bleeding but it goes away within a month or so, back to the normal mushy shit. Could this be my power brake booster because goddam this makes me SO MAD you have no clue. And hey don;t get me wrong, there is tons of stopping power, just the pedal feel sucks! :dunno:

tonytouch
03-25-2004, 07:48 PM
to check your brake booster all you need to do is pump the barke with the car off and turn the key until the lights on your dash around the speedometer come on if the brakes are still hard then your booster is shot it it goes soft then your booster should be ok

Oyvind Ryeng
03-25-2004, 07:57 PM
Same problem as my Audi. I can bleed the brakes till' I go insane, but the pedal is super-mushy; sometimes it gets as it should be, but it goes bad (mushy) in a few days. There is not a single drop of brakefluid that gets lost, but the air somehow gets into the lines without the brakefluid getting out the way the air came in. I also replaced my master cylinder, but no change.

Could it be a bad bleedvalve in one of the calipers?

EDIT: You could saw your brakebooster in two if you wish, it has *nothing* to do with the pedal getting mushy, as the pistons in the master cylinder has a solid link to the brakepedal, straight trough the brake booster.

mugenprelude86
03-25-2004, 08:17 PM
with the vacuum lines to the brake booster unplugged it is stiff once again. but hmm i have no clue...

mugenprelude86