PDA

View Full Version : Gas Prices to go up!

prozacposterboy
04-01-2004, 01:21 PM
I drive for a living and I listen to a particular talk radio show in the mornings.. they were speaking of OPECs decision to cut back oil production... IE.. higher gas prices for everyone... expect $3 a gallon at the pump... its almost $2 where im at right now.. .

White House Urges OPEC Reversal

Wednesday, March 31, 2004

WASHINGTON — White House officials urged Kuwait (search) and the United Arab Emirates (search) to try to reverse OPEC's (search) decision Wednesday to reduce oil production, a move sure to drive up gas prices and intensify a volatile election-year issue. Both countries already had opposed the production cut.

President Bush expressed disappointment with the decision by the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (search) to cut its production target by 4 percent. Bush's spokesman blamed Senate Democrats for stalling Bush's plan to drill for more domestic oil and to conserve energy.

White House press secretaryScott McClellan (search) said the administration was in steady contact with officials in oil-producing countries, arguing that "producers should not take steps that harm American consumers and our economy."

The White House and the Bush re-election campaign went after Democratic John Kerry (search), contending that the party's presumptive nominee for president would raise gas taxes.

Kerry once mentioned in a newspaper interview the idea of an additional 50-cent-per-gallon federal gasoline tax. He never offered legislation for such a tax and has since rejected the idea. Still, the Bush campaign has seized on the comment in recent days.

"That would cost you another $5 or more every time you fill up the tank," Bush told donors at a fund-raiser Wednesday night. "For that kind of money at least he ought to offer a free car wash."