PDA

View Full Version : just came back from mechanics....

XxDark_AccordxX
05-03-2004, 02:40 PM
well i took my car to the mechanics a few days ago for that loud noise it was making. Ends up ALL of my motor mounts are busted. Basically the engine is just wobbling in there. I found out one of the bolts from one of the motor mounts just wasnt there at all but the area marked in yellow. I guess that mechanic that i USED to go to forgot to put it back in and becuz of that they all went bad. What sucks is it was so long ago i cant prove it. The parts are gona cost me $129.00 and with the labor its gona come to about $500. There goes my paycheck for the next 4 weeks :dunno:

deadlight
05-03-2004, 02:50 PM
do it yourself, motor mounts are easy, even if you're not good with cars, I'm no pro at estimating repair costs but 500 seems outrageous to me. If I can get a clutch installed in my SHO *which involves dropping the subframe* I'm thinking that price is seriously unfair.

AccordEpicenter
05-03-2004, 03:02 PM
fill them with window weld... itll fix broken mounts if you position them correctly and then let dry for a day or 2

XxDark_AccordxX
05-03-2004, 05:31 PM
do it yourself, motor mounts are easy, even if you're not good with cars, I'm no pro at estimating repair costs but 500 seems outrageous to me. If I can get a clutch installed in my SHO *which involves dropping the subframe* I'm thinking that price is seriously unfair.

from what i hear its pretty difficult. I just dont wanna mess it up any more than it is. And yes 500 is crazy. Surprisingly its the cheapest i found. Nobody wants me do it becuz they said its "too big of a job". The reciept showed this for the amount:

rmc:$156.00 x 1 2402 R&R MOUNT, ENGINE OR TRANSAXLE
rmc:$ 23.40 x 1 2306 + AIR COND INTERFERENCE (apparently they hafta remove this and place it back)
rmc:$ 62.40 x 1 2402 R&R ROD, ENGINE TORQUE

then the part is 235.91. so basically about 477.71.

XxDark_AccordxX
05-03-2004, 05:32 PM