PDA

View Full Version : 89 accord hatch ideas...pics..

FishyMan
05-05-2004, 07:42 PM
helllo..
i just picked up a 5-speed 88 accord lxi hatch..to learn standard. i guess u can consider me a noob, as i am venturing and getting my feet wet in the automotive sense..

i was curious what things i can do this weekend to clean it up and get it into shape. i am thinking of doing an oil change this weekend and cleaning the interior. what other things do you guys suggest I can do at home? what specific tools and what not? [told you i was a noob, maybe thinking of picking up a tool set or something]

two things wrong:
-driver side window motor doesn't roll up and goes down only 1/4 ..
-hydraulics on hatch don't work..

if u guys can post pics of your hatch and suggestion, i gladly appreciate it. well, that's all to start things off, i wonder how this community is. this board seems very informative w/ the diys and dedicating to the 3rd genz..

thanks !!

superguillermo
05-05-2004, 10:49 PM
Choose to work on LOOKS and/or PERFORMANCE...

Looks: Performance:
Paint job Cold air intake
Rims/Tires Ignition upgrade (MSD, wires, etc.)
Suspension upgrade Exhaust
Window tint Suspension/Rims/Tires
Body kits Etc.
Etc.

The basics: Oil change, spark plugs & wires replacement, fuel filter replacement, air filter check, tranny oil check, and make sure your ECU isn't giving off any codes. It might be a good idea to get a car manual.

bobafett
05-05-2004, 11:12 PM
for tools you will need metric only... (maybe obvious to you, but you did say you were a newb)

the most common tools you will need for working on your car are the

10mm, 12mm, 14mm, 17mm. i have found 7mm, and also a screwdriver and 1/4" 3/8" and 1/2" ratchet you will need with the sockets.

extensions for your rachets are nice, and a jack to get the car up to change the oil. (which takes 17mm socket or wrench to undo)