PDA

View Full Version : Lowering 87 Accord ! Newbie

steve-024
05-06-2004, 08:40 PM
hey guys , might need alot of help on this one , im a newbie but i wanna pimp out my ride and get into the scene more , im thinking of lowering my car and i went to a store in town and they said i could get a 2.25 " drop for 1200 with pro lines . does anyone know how good of a deal im getting , this is without labour fees and hes not going to charge me for labour . i also ran across this
http://www.dynamicautodesign.com/coilovers.htm and i was wondering if i bought this what else would i need to drop my car ?
thanx everyone !

superguillermo
05-06-2004, 08:45 PM
so what exactly are you getting for that price?

steve-024
05-06-2004, 09:04 PM
so what exactly are you getting for that price?
i am getting , pro line shocks , full wheel alignment and soemthing else i forget what he said but it has to do with the rear tires ?

superguillermo
05-07-2004, 01:12 AM
Having a 2.25" drop is not cheap...might as well do it right the first time or you'll end up with a shitty ride. The price sounds about right for a drop, but it also depends on what you're getting.

Busted_Blue
05-07-2004, 08:41 AM
$1200!?

Prolines are decent springs...but I dont remember them being 2inch drop. And for the things you need:

New struts that can handle the stiff springs (ie. Koni Reds/ Revalved Bilstiens)
Most likely a camber kit or you will have bad camber wear.
and of course the springs.

Not like a rock
05-07-2004, 09:17 AM
Steve is talking CDN prices. But the recognized shops in town have a tendancy to rip off people with cars that the shop doesn't take seriously. Before you run out and lower the car, sleuth around the site and make sure you are getting what you want. There are tricks you can do to save money, like using prelude control arms in the front and adjusting the camber in the back with washers (I think).

steve-024
05-07-2004, 04:55 PM